Wise Council

March 25, 2011 at 7:30 AM 2 comments

On Friday, our doctor continued her stance that Naomi, at 18lbs, 13oz, is still very skinny for nearly 10 months.  She gave me some advice and recommendations regarding her diet and advised me to return in two weeks.

One of her recommendations did not sit well with me and as such, I called friend who went through the same experience with the first of her three children.  My friend also subscribes to the attachment parenting philosophy and had experienced similar difficulties as I in many different situations.

When you receive information from a professional, especially when it contradicts what you have been taught, researched or seen work, it makes you doubt and question your choices and methods. My friend reiterated to me the same thoughts that I had, and gave me the same advice that I would have given her had she called me asking for the same information.

In the end, our physicians give us wise council, but ultimately the choice is ours whether to heed that council or not. I will input the majority of what my doctor advised, but the one suggestion I was not comfortable with is something that we will skip.  It is nothing dire or dramatic, it simply goes against our beliefs and choices as parents.

I am thankful I have wise council from both my friend and my physician.  Their beliefs and support have helped me raise a bright, beautiful, healthy child who is the sunlight on my soul. I will continue to go to them both with my concerns and questions.  Their suggestions and thoughts give me answers and peace of mind.

This post is part of Finer Things Friday at Amy’s Finer Things and Five Minute Fridays at The Gypsy Mama.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Choosing Nursery Rhymes Link Love Round-Up, March 20-27

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  March 25, 2011 at 1:29 PM

    Your daughter is beautiful and seems so bright and happy. I think you are wise to listen to your instincts as her mother when evaluating whether to put doctor advice into practice. Thanks for sharing this.

    Reply
  • 2. Mel @ Trailing After God  |  March 25, 2011 at 2:20 PM

    I had the same issue with 3 out of 4 of my children. One doctor even suggested putting cream and butter in their food. NO WAY. Sorry but they were perfect, developing perfectly but small. I was not about to start poor eating habits this early on. They get too hung up on those charts. Go with your gut.

    Blessings,
    Mel
    Please feel free to stop by: Trailing After God

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Greetings and Salutations!


miniMOMist is an account of Mike, Nada and Naomi's journey into realistic minimalism, with the goal centered around simple living, and enjoying each other rather than things. We are a faith-based family and blog about our belief in God regularly. Our love for one another and our passion for a simple, minimalist life brings us much joy and pleasure.

Click to receive new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Archives


