Bittersweet: Returning to Work

March 10, 2011 at 4:08 PM 2 comments

Working Mom (170/365)
Photo Credit: Sal Petruzelli-Marino


As of April 27th (I think) I will no longer be on leave and decisions regarding our future must be made.  It is sad, for I firmly believe that in the home is where I am supposed to be. I dearly love puttering around in our apartment, cleaning, cooking, playing and laughing with Naomi.  I am a Christ-follower first, but my role as wife and mother to my family is without a doubt my highest earthly calling.

I am exceptionally fortunate, however.  My employers are good, understanding people.  I had a meeting with them yesterday and to my absolute delight, they were more than willing to work with me on a situation that would allow me to work part-time within a schedule that worked for my family.  It was such a relief to know that I would be able to work around my family and still provide some income to the household.

An ideal position would be, of course, to work from home. I have been thinking and considering what I could do from my home office.  But I also have the option to work part-time in the evenings, which would mean that I’d get to stay at home with Naomi throughout the day, which is of course my ultimate goal.

The important thing is to ask myself, why am I working? I am fortunate to do a job I enjoy, but must confess, and without shame: I enjoy my family more!

  • I am going back to work, at this time, because I must.  Michael makes enough that we don’t need a full-time second income but a part-time second income is indeed necessary.
  • I am going back to work to provide for us just that little bit extra that we need to live comfortably.
  • I am going back to work so we can continue to purchase organic foods and household products for our family.
  • I am going back to work so that we can finish paying off our credit card debt, and strive toward a debt-free life.
  • I am going back to work so we can keep our daughter out of daycare and among those who truly love her.

Just as important, however is to recognize why I am not going back to work! We have worked long and hard at minimizing and simpifying our home and lifestyle, and even though we aren’t quite where we’d like to be yet, I am very proud of our accomplishments!

  • I am not going back to work to pay for cable television — we watch all our television the second day online!
  • I am not going back to work to pay for a boat or a second house — we live in an apartment that will accommodate us and any future children, which does not come with a mortgage!
  • I am not going back to work to purchase more toys, clothes, fancy trips, or excess clutter — we strive to only keep things we love and are useful to us in our home!
  • I am not going back to work to pay for late night parties, concerts or expensive hobbies or lifestyles — our lifestyle is family-oriented and pleasantly peaceful.

It is bittersweet, my return to a job I enjoy.  However, in my heart I know we are making the best choices for our family. As Michael is just starting in this new career, he doesn’t yet make quite the money we’d need to live on a single income alone.  But that time will come.  And when it does, being a stay-at-home mom will be bittersweet too!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Reading Our Way Through Lent 40 Weeks of Joy

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jenny smythe  |  March 10, 2011 at 5:22 PM

    Your heart must be torn. It’s good to know that your employers are willing to work with you. You are truly blessed to have the flexibility of work and at the same time you can provide the best child care for Naomi.

    Reply
    • 2. mamasheppard  |  March 10, 2011 at 5:55 PM

      I am beyond blessed, and am so thankful. I feel better though, knowing that in the evenings when I am at work, Michael will be home to watch and care for Naomi. We are very lucky to have such an understanding employers.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Greetings and Salutations!


miniMOMist is an account of Mike, Nada and Naomi's journey into realistic minimalism, with the goal centered around simple living, and enjoying each other rather than things. We are a faith-based family and blog about our belief in God regularly. Our love for one another and our passion for a simple, minimalist life brings us much joy and pleasure.

Click to receive new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Archives


