I Forgot the Beans!

February 23, 2011 at 7:25 AM 1 comment

15 Bean Mix
Photo Credit: photobunny_earl

Yesterday, I had planned to make a chickpea for myself I for supper. Unfortunately when I awoke, I realized two major flaws in my plan: I hadn’t soaked any chickpeas…because I didn’t have any!

I realized I had the makings of a pot of baked beans, but unfortunately I didn’t have the beans soaked either. As I stared at my recipe notebook sadly I saw exactly what I needed: a tried-and-true quick-soak method my motor had given me that I had written down years ago.

In the end, they turned out perfect, and I had a delicious meal of homemade baked beans!  (Michael is not a bean man, which means more for me!)

Here’s my quick-soak method:

In a large pot, pour in two cups of beans (I used navy beans).  Add eight cups of water.

Set on stove and bring to a full boil.  Boil for two minutes, then cover and set aside as is.  Let sit for at least an hour.

Return covered pot to stove and let simmer for between an hour to and hour and a half.  The key word here is simmer, not boil!  If you boil them, they will burst and you will have mushy beans.

The beans are cooked when their skin peels back when you blow on them.

Give it a try!

This post is part of:

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Friends in Faith The Joy of Less

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. judee@glutenfreeA-Z  |  February 23, 2011 at 8:09 AM

    I posted a bean recipe this week and suggested the same quick method for soaking.. It is a lifesaver if you forget to soak the beans..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Greetings and Salutations!


miniMOMist is an account of Mike, Nada and Naomi's journey into realistic minimalism, with the goal centered around simple living, and enjoying each other rather than things. We are a faith-based family and blog about our belief in God regularly. Our love for one another and our passion for a simple, minimalist life brings us much joy and pleasure.

Click to receive new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Archives


