Why I Am Selling Off My Favorite Coat

January 12, 2011 at 2:30 PM 2 comments

In the very back of my closet sits a coat. You might not think much of a coat. But this is a special coat. I got it secondhand a few years ago. It’s my “coat of many colors”, though my momma didn’t make it for me (sidenote: how many of you got that reference?). It’s actually made by Nevada. It’s a size 10 or 12 and it’s made of strips of denim and corduroy. The color and sleeves have a fur trim. It is oh-so-warm and heavy. I love this coat. It has seen me through many winters, many events and many moments.

But time is passing. My coat and I are growing apart. Or rather, my hips are forcing my coat and I to grow apart. And other coats have come along to take it’s place. Such is life.

Still, my beautiful coat lingers at the back of my closet, waiting. Waiting for what? I don’t know.

Tonite, I was browsing though one of my new favorite blogs: The Minimalists and I started reading Joshua Millburn‘s post called Everything I Own: My 288 Things.

About halfway down the post, Joshua writes the following:

“Most importantly, I’m not attached to any of my possessions. Sure I have a favorite pair of jeans and a favorite pair of shoes and a favorite T-shirt, but those items don’t define me. I’m not attached to these things, and I could get rid of any of them without being upset or experiencing some sort of deep solipsistic loss. I am not my blue jeans or my furniture or my cooking utensils.”

this really struck a cord with me. It is amazing how attached we can get to an inanimate object, isn’t it? I don’t love this coat nearly as much as I love my husband, or my daughter. But this coat has come to define a part of who I am. It represents me in some way. Isn’t that silly?

This coat has no feelings. It isn’t conscience of who it adorns. It has no care whether it is used to keep me warm, or is used as a bed for a puppy. It doesn’t care. It’s just a coat.

So why do I feel so bad at the idea that I don’t want to give up this coat?

It is for that reason that I am putting my beloved coat up for sale. Not because I have to, or monitory gain or for the extra space. But to prove to myself that I am not defined by what I wear or what I do. My personality shines through the fabric of my coat and onto the rest of the earth. Anyone who has never seen my coat will still meet the person I am regardless.

So my coat goes on Kijiji. At a reasonable price. I hope it finds another good owner and another good home.

Though I will not be brokenhearted if it stays in my closet just a little longer.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Mom Talk: Attachment Parenting and the miniMOMist My Must List

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Magnificent Minimalist  |  January 12, 2011 at 5:13 PM

    Dolly Parton! Yay!

    I wish I was a size ten or twelve! That’d be so awesome!

    Reply
  • 2. Spyros Heniadis  |  January 12, 2011 at 5:29 PM

    Yesss!!!!! That feeling, that we are not defined by our things is so powerful. It took me a long time to realize that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Greetings and Salutations!


miniMOMist is an account of Mike, Nada and Naomi's journey into realistic minimalism, with the goal centered around simple living, and enjoying each other rather than things. We are a faith-based family and blog about our belief in God regularly. Our love for one another and our passion for a simple, minimalist life brings us much joy and pleasure.

Click to receive new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Archives


