Bull vs Cart

January 5, 2011 at 10:34 PM 3 comments

I’m getting irritated. And scared.

The reality of our current situation is beginning to dawn on me. My maternity leave is coming to an end very quickly. In fact, it’s over in April, I think. By then, I must have some idea where my contribution to our income will be coming from.

Our objectives remain the same — we desire for me to be a stay-at-home mom, so any income I generate has to be made from working at home. There are lots of different avenues I am interested in, but the fact is… It’s finally time to start looking for an at-home job.

Wow.

Here’s the thing: I have a habit of putting the cart before the bull. The cart is the result. The bull is the work involved to get to the cart. I’m dying to get to that part where I get all the benefits: income, a happy healthy baby, a well cared for home and a closeness with my husband. The problem is, however, I don’t know how to do all that.

I have been working on this blog eagerly, hoping to make something of it. Now I realize that, if I want to do that, I have to take some advice from Everett Bogue and start actually living it. I wrote earlier (and delightfully read Carwin Young write similar thoughts) that my definition of minimalism is getting rid of my distractions so I can focus on my priorities.

This blog is not a place for me to give advice yet. That’s like me trying to explain how to raise a teenager — I have no experience yet, what do I know?! This blog is a place for me to record my journey and share my experiences. I have never been a shy person. In fact, my problem is knowing when to stop showing and baring my soul.

Besides that, I also have to draw inspiration and ideas from others who are facing similar situations as myself: Spyros Henidais, Naill Doherty, Michele Auger, Amy McGuire, and a legion of others.

I have a goal, that seems so far out of reach, and yet is completely obtainable. I have to stop messing around with distractions (including my preconceived ideals regarding this blog) and start focusing on those things that are inportant and demand my attention.

Scary? Yes. Challenging? Yes. Exciting? Heck yes!

Grab that bull by the horns. We gotta cart to pull.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Drinks On Me! How I (Hope To) Make Money From My Junk

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy @ Finer Things  |  January 5, 2011 at 10:54 PM

    You can do this! I always tell people that my money-making job at home is to SAVE money. I truly SAVE more than I would make (minus day care and other work expenses) at an out-of-the-home-job.

    Reply
  • 2. Spyros Heniadis  |  January 6, 2011 at 10:50 AM

    Yes! Grab that bull! Let’s go. 🙂 We’re all with you.

    Reply
  • 3. Carwin Young  |  January 6, 2011 at 4:46 PM

    I completely know how you feel. I struggle with this kind of thing every day. When I started my own blog I was convinced I was going to make a living on affiliate sales and passive, blog-generated income. No such luck. I want want wanted those results. But I didn’t want to put in the work, I wanted to have already done the work. The same goes with everything in my life – I’d like to be a famous painter, but I don’t wanna do all those paintings.

    It’s a struggle, but we plod on with our desired future in our sights.

    The best suggestion for finding what kind of at-home income you can make is to just try 50 different things until one of them sticks and feels right. Maybe ebook reviews, maybe copywriting for corporate sites, maybe proofreading other peoples blogs for a fee per 200 words or some such idea.

    Good luck!

    -Carwin

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Greetings and Salutations!


miniMOMist is an account of Mike, Nada and Naomi's journey into realistic minimalism, with the goal centered around simple living, and enjoying each other rather than things. We are a faith-based family and blog about our belief in God regularly. Our love for one another and our passion for a simple, minimalist life brings us much joy and pleasure.

Click to receive new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Archives


