A Little Cry

November 23, 2010 at 6:38 AM Leave a comment

Naomi started fussing at 5am this morning. I tried patting to console her, but it quickly errupted into a full on wail and cry. I realized that she was likely having a nightmare. I started singing to her but the cry continued, as she wasn’t yet fully awake. In the end, I picked her up and cuddled her, gently singing to her until she was relaxed enough to latch on and nurse back to sleep.

What a joy it is to be able to comfort your child. I am sad that she had a nightmare. I prefer it when she giggles and laughs in her sleep, or when she grabs my arm and nuzzles it like a teddy bear. I often wonder what her dreams are — smiling faces, colorful toys, soft blankets, nursing with mommy… I cannot imagine how blissful sleep must be for an infant. At the same time, what are her nightmares? Loud noises? Being cold, or alone? Scary faces? Falling?

Now she is peacefully slumbering beside me. I am happy to see her resting. Cuddling up between she and Michael is one of my favorite ways to spend my time.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

In Flanders’ Fields Mellowing Out

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Greetings and Salutations!


miniMOMist is an account of Mike, Nada and Naomi's journey into realistic minimalism, with the goal centered around simple living, and enjoying each other rather than things. We are a faith-based family and blog about our belief in God regularly. Our love for one another and our passion for a simple, minimalist life brings us much joy and pleasure.

Click to receive new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Archives


